The treatment of young adults in the criminal justice system Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 10 November 2015

Dr Nathan Hughes, University of Birmingham, Professor Sir Anthony Bottoms, Universities of Cambridge and Sheffield, Dr Enys Delmage, Royal College of Psychiatrists and Dr Prathiba Chitsabesan, Pennine Care NHS Foundation Trust


Poppy Harrison, Youth Justice Board, Hannah Doughty, Association of Youth Offending Team Managers, and Colin Allars, National Probation Service


Tuesday 12 January 2016

Lord Harris of Haringey, Chair of the Harris Review, and Dr Deborah Browne, Secretary of the Harris Review


Baroness Young of Hornsey OBE, Chair of the Task Group producing the Young Review, Jeremy Crook, Director, Black Training and Enterprise Group, and Raheel Mohammed, Director of Maslaha


Rt Hon Lord McNally, Chair, Youth Justice Board, and Lin Hinnigan, Chief Executive, Youth Justice Board


Tuesday 2 February 2016

Dr Kate Gooch, Birmingham Law School, and Mr Nick Pascoe, Deputy Director of Custody for Young People, National Offender Management Service


Malcolm Richardson JP, Chairman, Magistrates Association, Fiona Abbott JP, Chair of the Youth Court Committee, Magistrates Association, Ben Estep, Youth Justice Programme Manager, Centre for Justice Innovation, and Michael Caplan QC


Tuesday 12 April 2016

Stephen Greenhalgh, Deputy Mayor for Policing and Crime, Mayor’s Office for Policing and Crime


Andrew Hillas, Head of 18-25 young offender cohort, London Community Rehabilitation Company, David Ripley, Director of Resources, Durham Tees Valley Community Rehabilitation Company, and Grace Strong, Strategic Partnership Manager, the YAP!


Bernie Kastner, Community Services Manager, St Giles Trust, Mat Ilic, Justice Strategy Director, Catch22, and Bex Mullins, Young Women’s Keyworker, Advance Minerva


Tuesday 26 April 2016

Andrew Selous MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Minister for Prisons, Probation and Rehabilitation, Ministry of Justice, and Michael Spurr, Chief Executive, National Offender Management Service


Angela Cossins, Deputy Director, National Probation Service, Max Rutherford, Criminal Justice Programme Manager, Transition to Adulthood Alliance, Barrow Cadbury Trust, and Huw Williams, Professor of Clinical Neuropsychology and Co-Director of the Centre for Clinical Neuropsychology Research, Exeter University


24 October 2016