Electricity sector in Northern Ireland Contents

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Northern Ireland Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

Current membership

Mr Laurence Robertson MP (Conservative, Tewkesbury) (Chair)

Tom Blenkinsop MP (Labour, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland)

Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry)

Mr Stephen Hepburn MP (Labour, Jarrow)

Lady Hermon MP (Independent, North Down)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Danny Kinahan MP (Ulster Unionist Party, South Antrim)

Jack Lopresti MP (Conservative, Filton and Bradley Stoke)

Dr Alasdair McDonnell MP (Social Democratic and Labour Party, Belfast South)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Mark Pritchard MP (Conservative, The Wrekin)

Jim Shannon MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Strangford)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/niacom and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

Robert Cope (Clerk), Nicholas Taylor (Committee Specialist), Elektra Garvie-Adams (Committee Specialist), John Hitchcock (Senior Committee Assistant), Eldon Gallagher (Committee Support Assistant) and George Perry (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2173; the Committee’s email address is northircom@parliament.uk.

28 April 2017