Funding for research into brain tumours: Government Response to the Petitions Committee’s First Report of Session 2015–16 Contents

Petitions Committee

The Petitions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider e-petitions submitted on and public (paper) petitions presented to the House of Commons.

Current membership

Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North) (Chair)

Ian Blackford MP (Scottish National Party, Ross, Skye, and Lochaber)

Steve Double MP (Conservative, St. Austell and Newquay)

Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West and Penge)

Oliver Dowden MP (Conservative, Hertsmere)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

Ben Howlett MP (Conservative, Bath)

Mr Nick Hurd MP (Conservative, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)

Catherine McKinnell (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North)

David Mackintosh MP (Conservative, Northampton South)

Paul Scully MP (Conservative, Sutton and Cheam)


The powers of the Petitions Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 145A. These are available on the Internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Anne-Marie Griffiths (Clerk), Fiona Whiteside (Second Clerk), Emma McIntosh (Petitions and Engagement Officer), Paul Simpkin (Senior Committee Assistant), Sean Harris (Committee Assistant), Pippa Lansdell (Media Officer), Laura Diebelius (Media Officer) and James Millar (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Petitions Committee, Committee Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4272; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

15 June 2016