Conduct of witnesses before a select committee: Mr Colin Myler, Mr Tom Crone, Mr Les Hinton, and News International Contents

The Committee of Privileges

The Committee of Privileges is appointed by the House of Commons to consider specific matters relating to privilege referred to it by the House.

Current membership

Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley) (Chair)

Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Tom Blenkinsop MP (Labour, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland)

Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Dominic Grieve QC MP (Conservative, Beaconsfield)

Susan Elan Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South)

Tommy Sheppard MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh East)

The following member was also a member of the Committee during the Parliament:

Jo Stevens MP (Labour, Cardiff Central)


The constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in Standing Order No. 148A. The Law Officers, if they are Members of the House, may attend and take part in the Committee’s proceedings, but may not vote.


The Reports and evidence of the Committee are published by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the Internet at

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Lynn Gardner (Clerk), Jennifer Burch (Second Clerk), and Cecilia Santi O Desanti (Committee Assistant). The Committee also has the assistance of Michael Carpenter (Speaker’s Counsel) and Helen Kinghorn (Assistant Counsel).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee of Privileges, Journal Office, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is 020 7219 6615.

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

13 September 2016