Matters for the Procedure Committee in the 2017 Parliament Contents

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne) (Chair)

Bob Blackman MP (Conservative, Harrow East)

Jenny Chapman MP (Labour, Darlington)

Mr Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe)

James Duddridge MP (Conservative, Rochford and Southend East)

Chris Elmore MP (Labour, Ogmore)

Yvonne Fovargue MP (Labour, Makerfield)

Patricia Gibson MP (Scottish National Party, North Ayrshire and Arran)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Patrick Grady MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North)

Sir Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Huw Merriman MP (Conservative, Bexhill and Battle)

Mr David Nuttall MP (Conservative, Bury North)

Melanie Onn MP (Labour, Great Grimsby)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 147. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Martyn Atkins (Clerk), Leoni Kurt (Second Clerk), Jim Lawford (Committee Assistant), and Alasdair Rendall (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3351; the Committee’s email address is

28 April 2017