Private Members' bills: observations on the Government response Contents

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne) (Chair)

Edward Argar MP (Conservative, Charnwood)

Bob Blackman MP (Conservative, Harrow East)

Jenny Chapman MP (Labour, Darlington)

Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe)

Yvonne Fovargue MP (Labour, Makerfield)

Patricia Gibson MP (Scottish National Party, North Ayrshire and Arran)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Patrick Grady MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North)

Simon Hoare MP (Conservative, North Dorset)

Sir Edward Leigh MP (Conservative, Gainsborough)

Ian C. Lucas MP (Labour, Wrexham)

Holly Lynch MP (Labour, Halifax)

Mr Alan Mak MP (Conservative, Havant)

Mr David Nuttall MP (Conservative, Bury North)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 147. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Martyn Atkins (Clerk), Katya Cassidy and Leoni Kurt (Second Clerks), Jim Lawford (Committee Assistant), and Joanna Nurse (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3351; the Committee’s email address is


© Parliamentary copyright 2015

14 October 2016