Delivering Restoration and Renewal Contents

The Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine “the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit” (Standing Order No. 148).

Current membership

Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch) (Chair)

Mr Richard Bacon MP (Conservative, South Norfolk)

Philip Boswell MP (Scottish National Party, Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill)

Charlie Elphicke MP (Conservative, Dover)

Chris Evans MP (Labour (Co-op), Islwyn)

Caroline Flint MP (Labour, Don Valley)

Kevin Foster MP (Conservative, Torbay)

Simon Kirby MP (Conservative, Brighton, Kemptown)

Kwasi Kwarteng MP (Conservative, Spelthorne)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Anne Marie Morris MP (Conservative, Newton Abbot)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

John Pugh MP (Liberal Democrat, Southport)

Karin Smyth MP (Labour, Bristol South)

Mrs Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP (Conservative, Berwick-upon-Tweed)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 148. These are available on the Internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Stephen McGinness (Clerk), Dr Mark Ewbank (Second Clerk), Sue Alexander and Ruby Radley (Committee Assistants), and Tim Bowden (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committee of Public Accounts, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4099; the Committee’s email address is

8 March 2017