Post-study work schemes: Government Response to the Committee’s Fourth Report of Session 2015–16

The Scottish Affairs Committee

The Scottish Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Scotland Office (including (i) relations with the Scottish Parliament and (ii) administration and expenditure of the offices of the Advocate General for Scotland (but excluding individual cases and advice given within government by the Advocate General)).

Current membership

Pete Wishart (Scottish National Party, Perth and North Perthshire) (Chair)

Deidre Brock (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh North and Leith)

Mr Christopher Chope (Conservative, Christchurch)

Mr Jim Cunningham (Labour, Coventry South)

Margaret Ferrier (Scottish National Party, Rutherglen and Hamilton West)

Mr Stephen Hepburn (Labour, Jarrow)

Chris Law (Scottish National Party, Dundee West)

Ian Murray (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Dr Poulter (Conservative, Central Suffolk and North Ipswich)

John Stevenson (Conservative, Carlisle)

Maggie Throup (Conservative, Erewash)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Mr David Anderson (Labour, Blaydon) and Kirsty Blackman (Scottish National Party, Aberdeen North)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House. Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jyoti Chandola (Clerk), Peter Stam (Second Clerk), Edward Faulkner (Committee Specialist), Pansy Barrett (Senior Committee Assistant), Annabel Russell (Committee Assistant), Jake Barker (Social Media Assistant) and George Perry (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Scottish Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8204; the Committee’s email address is

26 October 2016