Leaving the EU: implications and opportunities for science and research Contents

Science and Technology Committee

The Science and Technology Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Office for Science and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Stephen Metcalfe MP (Conservative, South Basildon and East Thurrock) (Chair)

Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods MP (Labour, City of Durham)

Victoria Borwick MP (Conservative, Kensington)

Stella Creasy MP (Labour (Co-op), Walthamstow)

Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West and Penge)

Chris Green MP (Conservative, Bolton West)

Dr Tania Mathias MP (Conservative, Twickenham)

Carol Monaghan MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North West)

Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Blackley and Broughton)

Derek Thomas MP (Conservative, St Ives)

Matt Warman MP (Conservative, Boston and Skegness)

The following were also members of the committee during the parliament:

Nicola Blackwood MP (Conservative, Oxford West and Abingdon)
(Chair of the Committee until 19 July 2016)

Liz McInnes MP (Labour, Heywood and Middleton)

Valerie Vaz MP (Labour, Walsall South)

Daniel Zeichner MP (Labour, Cambridge)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/science and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Simon Fiander (Clerk); Marsha David (Second Clerk); Sean Kinsey (Second Clerk); Dr Elizabeth Rough (Committee Specialist); Martin Smith (Committee Specialist); Julie Storey (Committee Assistant); and Nick Davies (Media Officer).

17 November 2016