Industrial Strategy: science and STEM skills Contents

Science and Technology Committee

The Science and Technology Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Office for Science and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Stephen Metcalfe MP (Conservative, South Basildon and East Thurrock) (Chair)

Victoria Borwick MP (Conservative, Kensington)

Stella Creasy MP (Labour (Co-op), Walthamstow)

Jim Dowd MP (Labour, Lewisham West and Penge)

Chris Green MP (Conservative, Bolton West)

Dr Tania Mathias MP (Conservative, Twickenham)

Carol Monaghan MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North West)

Gareth Snell MP (Labour (Co-op), Stoke-on-Trent Central)

Graham Stringer MP (Labour, Blackley and Broughton)

Derek Thomas MP (Conservative, St Ives)

Matt Warman MP (Conservative, Boston and Skegness)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are: Simon Fiander (Clerk); Marsha David (Second Clerk); Sean Kinsey (Second Clerk); Dr Elizabeth Rough (Committee Specialist); Martin Smith (Committee Specialist); Amy Vistuer (Senior Committee Assistant); Julie Storey (Committee Assistant); and Shagufta Hailes (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Science and Technology Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2793; the Committee’s e-mail address is:

5 April 2017