The future of rail: Improving the rail passenger experience Contents

List of acronyms and glossary

ATOC—Association of Train Operating Companies, industry body representing passenger train operating companies.

CaSL—Cancelled and Significantly Late, official industry measure of the percentage of train services cancelled, in full or in part, or delayed by 30 minutes or more.

DfT—Department for Transport, government department responsible for rail franchising.

DOO—Driver Only Operation, operating system under which train doors are opened and closed by the driver of the train, using cab-mounted cameras and display screens to ensure that it is safe to do so, rather than by an on-board Conductor or Guard.

DOR—Directly Operated Railways, until recently a company wholly owned by the DfT, set up to act as “operator of last resort” should a rail franchise agreement with a Train Operating Company fail.

Force majeure—a contractual term, commonly used in rail franchise agreements, for events that lead to an operator failing to meet contractual performance obligations, but which are beyond the operator’s control.

GTR—Govia Thameslink Railway, the Train Operating Company responsible for delivering services on the Thameslink, Southern and Great Northern network.

Network Rail—an arm’s length government body, responsible for running, maintaining and developing rail tracks, signalling, bridges, tunnels, level crossings and most railway stations.

NRE—National Rail Enquiries, the central source of information for rail passengers, run by ATOC.

NRPS—National Rail Passenger Survey, official measure of rail passenger satisfaction, conducted as a national paper survey of passengers’ satisfaction with individual journeys twice per year.

ORR—Office of Rail and Road, the independent safety and economic regulator of the railway.

PiXC—Passengers in Excess of Capacity, the DfT’s official measure of overcrowding on trains.

PPM—Public Performance Measure, a headline measure of Train Operating Company performance. PPM measures the percentage of trains arriving at their destination within five minutes of schedule (for regional and commuter trains) or 10 minutes of schedule (for longer distance trains).

Remedial Plan—an agreement struck between a Train Operating Company and the DfT, where the Train Operating Company has breached contractual performance benchmarks. Remedial Plans include actions the operator agrees to take to improve performance, and may include revisions to the operator’s contractual performance benchmarks.

RDG—Rail Delivery Group, industry-wide body representing passenger and freight train operators, Network Rail and rolling stock companies.

RMT—National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers, which represents the interests of railway staff.

RSSB—Rail Safety and Standards Board, a not-for-profit company owned by industry stakeholders, RSSB aims to support the rail industry in improving safety and performance on the railway.

Smart ticketing—technological alternatives to paper rail tickets, including smartcards, such as London’s Oyster card, and “contactless” payment via bank cards and smart phones.

Southern Railway/Southern—part of the wider Thameslink, Southern and Great Northern franchise run by GTR, Southern services cover a large part of the rail network in south-east England, including the Sussex coast, Surrey, south London and parts of Kent.

Thameslink Programme—a major, government-sponsored rail infrastructure programme, including substantial redevelopment of London Bridge station, intended to “transform north-south travel through London”. The programme commenced in 2015 and is due for completion in 2018.

TfL—Transport for London, the capital’s transport authority, responsible for London’s buses, London Underground, Docklands Light Railway, London Overground, TfL Rail and London Trams.

TOC—Train Operating Company

Transport Focus—independent transport user watchdog. Transport Focus is an executive non-departmental public body, sponsored by the DfT.

TSGN—Thameslink, Southern and Great Northern franchise

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

13 October 2016