Restoration and Renewal of the Palace of Westminster: Preliminary Report Contents

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester) (Chair)

Mr Steve Baker MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Stephen Hammond MP (Conservative, Wimbledon)

George Kerevan MP (Scottish National Party, East Lothian)

Kit Malthouse MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire)

John Mann MP (Labour, Bassetlaw)

Chris Philp MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Wes Streeting MP (Labour, Ilford North)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the Parliament: Mark Garnier MP (Conservative, Wyre Forest)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sarah Rees (Committee Clerk), Amelia Aspden (Second Clerk), Gavin Thompson (Lead Senior Economist), Marcus Wilton (Senior Economist), Dan Lee (Senior Economist), Adam Wales (Chief Policy Adviser), George James (Senior Committee Assistant), Iain McLean (Committee Assistant), Matt Panteli (Senior Media and Policy Officer), David Hook (on secondment from HMRC), Victoria Sena (on secondment from the Bank of England), Alexander Knight (on Secondment from the National Audit Office), and Ruthanne Straughan (on secondment from the FCA).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee’s email address is

16 March 2017