The economic and financial costs and benefits of the UK’s EU membership Contents

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester) (Chair)

Mr Steve Baker MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Mark Garnier MP (Conservative, Wyre Forest)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Stephen Hammond MP (Conservative, Wimbledon)

George Kerevan MP (Scottish National Party, East Lothian)

John Mann MP (Labour, Bassetlaw)

Chris Philp MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Wes Streeting MP (Labour, Ilford North)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are James Rhys (Committee Clerk), Chloe Challender (Second Clerk), Gavin Thompson (Senior Economist), Marcus Wilton (Senior Economist), Dan Lee (Senior Economist ), James Mirza Davies (Committee Specialist), Shane Pathmanathan (Senior Committee Assistant), Amy Vistuer (Committee Assistant), Elektra Garvie-Adams (Committee Support Assistant), Toby Coaker (Media Officer/Committee Specialist on secondment from the NAO), David Hook (on secondment from HMRC), George Barnes (on secondment from the Bank of England) and Victoria Sena (on secondment from the Bank of England).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

27 May 2016