Making Tax Digital Contents

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Mr Andrew Tyrie MP (Conservative, Chichester) (Chair)

Mr Steve Baker MP (Conservative, Wycombe)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Stephen Hammond MP (Conservative, Wimbledon)

George Kerevan MP (Scottish National Party, East Lothian)

Kit Malthouse MP (Conservative, North West Hampshire)

John Mann MP (Labour, Bassetlaw)

Chris Philp MP (Conservative, Croydon South)

Mr Jacob Rees-Mogg MP (Conservative, North East Somerset)

Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Wes Streeting MP (Labour, Ilford North)

The following member was also a member of the committee during the Parliament: Mark Garnier MP (Conservative, Wyre Forest)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sarah Rees (Committee Clerk), Amelia Aspden (Second Clerk), Gavin Thompson (Senior Economist), Marcus Wilton (Senior Economist), Dan Lee (Senior Economist), Darren Hackett (Senior Committee Assistant), Elektra Garvie-Adams (Committee Support Assistant), Matt Panteli (Senior Media and Policy Officer), Toby Coaker (Committee Specialist on secondment from the NAO), David Hook (on secondment from HMRC), Foeke Noppert (on secondment from the FCA), George Barnes (on secondment from the Bank of England) and Victoria Sena (on secondment from the Bank of England).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee’s email address is

11 January 2017