Ensuring strong equalities legislation after the EU exit Contents

The Women and Equalities Committee

The Women and Equalities Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Equalities Office (GEO).

Current membership

Mrs Maria Miller MP (Conservative, Basingstoke) (Chair)

Lucy Allan MP (Conservative, Telford)

Tracy Brabin MP (Labour, Batley and Spen)

Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour, Brentford and Isleworth)

Maria Caulfield MP (Conservative, Lewes)

Angela Crawley MP (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Philip Davies MP (Conservative, Shipley)

Mrs Flick Drummond MP (Conservative, Portsmouth South)

Ben Howlett MP (Conservative, Bath)

Jess Phillips MP (Labour, Birmingham, Yardley)

Mr Gavin Shuker MP (Labour (Co-op), Luton South)

The following were also members of the Committee during this inquiry:

Jo Churchill MP (Conservative, Bury St Edmunds)

Mims Davies MP (Conservative, Eastleigh)

Gill Furniss MP (Labour, Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/womenandequalities and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Judith Boyce (Clerk), Sharmini Selvarajah (Second Clerk), Tansy Hutchinson (Committee Specialist), Holly Dustin (Committee Specialist), Shai Jacobs (Committee Specialist), Asaad Qadri (Inquiry Manager), Aaron Huang (Inquiry Manager), Alexandra Hunter-Wainwright (Senior Committee Assistant), Mandy Sullivan (Committee Assistant), and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Women and Equalities Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6123; the Committee’s email address is womeqcom@parliament.uk.

24 February 2017