Pregnancy and maternity discrimination Contents

The Women and Equalities Committee

The Women and Equalities Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Government Equalities Office (GEO).

Current membership

Mrs Maria Miller MP (Conservative, Basingstoke) (Chair)

Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour, Brentford and Isleworth)

Maria Caulfield MP (Conservative, Lewes)

Jo Churchill MP (Conservative, Bury St Edmonds)

Angela Crawley MP (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Mims Davies MP (Conservative, Eastleigh)

Mrs Flick Drummond MP (Conservative, Portsmouth South)

Gill Furniss MP (Labour, Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough)

Ben Howlett MP (Conservative, Bath)

Jess Phillips MP (Labour, Birmingham, Yardley)

Mr Gavin Shuker MP (Labour (Co-op), Luton South)

The following members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Siobhain McDonagh MP (Labour, Mitcham and Morden)

Tulip Siddiq MP (Labour, Hampstead and Kilburn)

Cat Smith MP (Labour, Lancaster and Fleetwood)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the Internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and by The Stationery Office by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Gosia McBride (Clerk), Luanne Middleton (Second Clerk), Sharmini Selvarajah (Committee Specialist), Emma Sawyer (Committee Specialist), Asaad Qadri (Inquiry Manager), Thomas Pudlo (Senior Committee Assistant), Mandy Sullivan (Committee Assistant), and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Women and Equalities Committee, House of Commons, Westminster, London, SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6123; the Committee’s email address is

© Parliamentary copyright 2015

4 August 2016