Draft National Policy statement for Geological Disposal Infrastructure Contents

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee

The Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Current membership

Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West) (Chair)

Vernon Coaker MP (Labour, Gedling)

Drew Hendry MP (Scottish National Party, Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey)

Stephen Kerr MP (Conservative, Stirling)

Peter Kyle MP (Labour, Hove)

Mr Ian Liddell-Grainger MP (Conservative, Bridgwater and West Somerset)

Sir Patrick McLoughlin (Conservative, Derbyshire Dales)

Albert Owen MP (Labour, Ynys Môn)

Mark Pawsey MP (Conservative, Rugby)

Antoinette Sandbach MP (Conservative, Eddisbury)

Anna Turley MP (Labour (Co-op), Redcar)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/beis and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Chris Shaw (Clerk), Ben Sneddon (Second Clerk), Jeanne Delebarre (Senior Clerk), Ian Cruse and Becky Mawhood (Committee Specialists), James McQuade (Senior Committee Assistant), and Gary Calder (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee’s email address is beiscom@parliament.uk

Published: 31 July 2018