The Future of Audit Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 15 January 2019

Prof Christopher Humphrey, Professor of Accounting, Alliance Manchester Business School, Vinita Mithani, Lecturer in Accounting, Department of Accounting and Finance, Middlesex University, Ilias G. Basioudis, Senior Lecturer in Financial Accounting and Auditing, Aston University Business School, Prof Karthik Ramanna, University of Oxford


Leon Kamhi, Head of Responsible Investment, Hermes Investment Management, Liz Murrall, Director, Stewardship and Reporting, The Investment Association, Euan Stirling, Global Head of Stewardship & ESG Investment, Aberdeen Standard Investments, Natasha Landell-Mills, Head of Stewardship, Sarasin & Partners


Wednesday 23 January 2019

Steve Barber, Audit Committee Chair, AA plc, Margaret Ewing, Nomination, Audit & Risk Chair, ITV


Sir John Kingman, Chair of the Independent Review of the Financial Reporting Council


Wednesday 30 January 2019

David Dunckley, Chief Executive Officer, Grant Thornton, Scott Knight, Head of Audit, BDO, Clive Stevens, Chairman, Association of Practicing Accountants, Jac Berry, UK Head of Quality and Risk, Mazars


David Sproul, Senior Partner and Chief Executive Officer, Deloitte UK, Steve Varley, Chairman, EY UK, Bill Michael, UK Chairman and Senior Partner of KPMG, Kevin Ellis, Chairman and Senior Partner, PwC UK


Monday 4 February 2019

Sir Donald Brydon, Chair of the Independent Review of the Quality and Effectiveness of the UK Audit Market


Tuesday 5 February 2019

Stephen Haddrill, Chief Executive, Financial Reporting Council, Michael Izza, Chief Executive, Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales, Maggie McGhee, Executive Director, Governance, Association of Chartered Certified Accountants


Wednesday 13 March 2019

The Rt Hon Greg Clark MP, Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, Debbie Gillatt, Director, Business Frameworks, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, Alex Chisholm, Permanent Secretary, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy


Published: 2 April 2019