Pre-legislative scrutiny of the draft Non-Domestic Rating (Property in Common Occupation) Bill Contents

Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee

The Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government.

Current membership

Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield South East) (Chair)

Mike Amesbury MP (Labour, Weaver Vale)

Bob Blackman MP (Conservative, Harrow East)

Helen Hayes MP (Labour, Dulwich and West Norwood)

Kevin Hollinrake MP (Conservative, Thirsk and Malton)

Andrew Lewer MP (Conservative, Northampton South)

Jo Platt MP (Labour (Co-op), Leigh)

Mr Mark Prisk MP (Conservative, Hertford and Stortford)

Mary Robinson MP (Conservative, Cheadle)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Matt Western MP (Labour, Warwick and Leamington)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Edward Beale (Clerk), Jenny Burch (Second Clerk), Tamsin Maddock, Nick Taylor (Committee Specialists), Tony Catinella (Senior Committee Assistant), Eldon Gallagher (Committee Support Assistant), Gary Calder and Oliver Florence (Media Officers).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Communities and Local Government Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 4972; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 18 April 2018