Draft Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) (Custodial Premises) Subordinate Provisions Order 2018

Regulatory Reform Committee

The Regulatory Reform Committee (previously the Deregulation and Regulatory Reform Committee) is appointed to consider and report to the House on draft Legislative Reform Orders under the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Act 2006. Its full remit is set out in S.O. No. 141, which was approved on 4 July 2007.

Current membership

Stephen McPartland MP (Conservative, Stevenage) (Chair)

Bim Afolami MP (Conservative, Hitchin and Harpenden)

Andrew Bridgen MP (Conservative, North West Leicestershire)

Douglas Chapman MP (Scottish National Party, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Mr Simon Clarke MP (Conservative, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland)

Julie Elliott MP (Labour, Sunderland Central)

Kirstene Hair MP (Conservative, Angus)

Simon Hoare MP (Conservative, North Dorset)

Graham P Jones MP (Labour, Hyndburn)

Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Mr Kevan Jones MP (Labour, North Durham)

Conor McGinn MP (Labour, St Helens North)

Jeremy Quin MP (Conservative, Horsham)

Karl Turner MP (Labour, Kingston upon Hull East)

Criteria against which the Committee considers each draft legislative reform order

Paragraph (9) of Standing Order No.141 requires us to consider any draft regulatory reform order against the following criteria:

whether the special attention of the House should be drawn to it on any of the grounds laid down in paragraph (1) of Standing Order No. 151 (Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)); and if the committee is of the opinion that any such order or draft order should be annulled, or, as the case may be, should not be approved, they shall report that opinion to the House.


Committee reports are published on the publications page of the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee (including press notices) are on the internet at www.parliament.uk/regrefcom.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Ben Sneddon (Clerk), and Jonathan Olivier-Wright (Senior Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Regulatory Reform Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5777; the Committee’s email address is: deregcom@parliament.uk

2 March 2018