Sustainable Seas: Government Response to the Committee’s Fourteenth Report

Environmental Audit Committee

The Environmental Audit Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider to what extent the policies and programmes of government departments and non-departmental public bodies contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development; to audit their performance against such targets as may be set for them by Her Majesty’s Ministers; and to report thereon to the House.

Current membership

Mary Creagh MP (Labour, Wakefield) (Chair)

Colin Clark MP (Conservative, Gordon)

Dr Thérèse Coffey MP (Conservative, Suffolk Coastal)

Alex Cunningham MP, (Labour, Stockton North)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour (Co-op), Swansea West)

Mr Philip Dunne MP (Conservative, Ludlow)

Zac Goldsmith MP (Conservative, Richmond Park)

Mr Robert Goodwill MP (Conservative, Scarborough and Whitby)

James Gray MP (Conservative, North Wiltshire)

Caroline Lucas MP (Green Party, Brighton, Pavilion)

Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour, Bristol East)

Anna McMorrin MP (Labour, Cardiff North)

John McNally MP (Scottish National Party, Falkirk)

Dr Matthew Offord MP (Conservative, Hendon)

Dr Dan Poulter MP (Conservative, Central Suffolk and North Ipswich)

Alex Sobel MP (Labour (Co-op), Leeds North West)


The constitution and powers are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152A. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Lloyd Owen (Clerk), Leoni Kurt (Second Clerk), Ruth Cahir (Committee Specialist), Laura Grant (Committee Specialist), Laura Scott (Committee Specialist), Jonathan Wright (Senior Committee Assistant), Baris Tufekci (Committee Assistant), Anne Peacock (Media Officer) and Simon Horswell (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environmental Audit Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8890; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsEAC.

Published: 9 May 2019