Regulation of the water industry Contents

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee

The Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and associated public bodies.

Current membership

Neil Parish MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton) (Chair)

Alan Brown MP (Scottish National Party, Kilmarnock and Loudoun)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

John Grogan MP (Labour, Keighley)

Dr Caroline Johnson MP (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

Kerry McCarthy MP (Labour, Bristol East)

Sandy Martin MP (Labour, Ipswich)

Mrs Sheryll Murray MP (Conservative, South East Cornwall)

David Simpson MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Upper Bann)

Angela Smith MP (Labour, Penistone and Stocksbridge)

Julian Sturdy MP (Conservative, York Outer)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the Internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sian Woodward (Clerk), Ben Street (Second Clerk), Xameerah Malik (Senior Committee Specialist), Andy French (Committee Specialist), Thomas Smallwood (Committee Researcher), James Hockaday (Senior Committee Assistant), Ian Blair (Committee Assistant) and Annabel Russell (Committee Assistant).

Eliot Barrass (Clerk) and Daniel Schlappa (Second Clerk) were also Committee staff during the inquiry.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 7341; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 9 October 2018