First Report of Session 2017–19 Contents

European Statutory Instruments Committee

The European Statutory Instruments Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine and report on:

(i) any of the following documents laid before the House of Commons in accordance with paragraph 3(3)(b) or 17(3)(b) of Schedule 7 to the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018—

(ii) any matter arising from its consideration of such documents.

Current membership

Sir Patrick McLoughlin MP (Conservative, Derbyshire Dales) (Chair)

Kirsty Blackman MP (Scottish National Party, Aberdeen North)

Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe)

Mr Philip Dunne MP (Conservative, Ludlow)

Ms Angela Eagle MP (Labour, Wallasey)

Sir David Evennett MP (Conservative, Bexleyheath and Crayford)

Vicky Ford MP (Conservative, Chelmsford)

Patrick Grady MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North)

Trudy Harrison MP (Conservative, Copeland)

Julia Lopez MP (Conservative, Hornchurch and Upminster)

Ian C. Lucas MP (Labour, Wrexham)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Mary Robinson MP (Conservative, Cheadle)

Andrew Selous MP (Conservative, South West Bedfordshire)

Jo Stevens MP (Labour, Cardiff Central)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)


The Committee’s powers are set out under a Temporary Standing Order of 16 July 2018.


The reports of the Committee are published in print by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Mike Winter (Clerk), Yohanna Sallberg (Second Clerk), Paul Simpkin (Senior Committee Assistant) and Zsofia Kiss (Committee Assistant). Advisory Counsel: Daniel Greenberg, Klara Banaszak and Vanessa MacNair.

All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Statutory Instruments Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 7597; the Committee’s email address is:

Published: 7 September 2018