Documents considered by the Committee on 16 January 2019 Contents


Numbering of documents

Three separate numbering systems are used in this Report for European Union documents:

Where only a Committee number is given, this usually indicates that no official text is available and the Government has submitted an “unnumbered Explanatory Memorandum” discussing what is likely to be included in the document or covering an unofficial text.

Abbreviations used in the headnotes and footnotes

AFSJ Area of Freedom Security and Justice

CFSP Common Foreign and Security Policy

CSDP Common Security and Defence Policy

ECA European Court of Auditors

ECB European Central Bank

EEAS European External Action Service

EM Explanatory Memorandum (submitted by the Government to the Committee)*

EP European Parliament

EU European Union

JHA Justice and Home Affairs

OJ Official Journal of the European Communities

QMV Qualified majority voting

SEM Supplementary Explanatory Memorandum

TEU Treaty on European Union

TFEU Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union


Where figures in euros have been converted to pounds sterling, this is normally at the market rate for the last working day of the previous month.

Further information

Documents recommended by the Committee for debate, together with the times of forthcoming debates (where known), are listed in the European Union Documents list, which is published in the House of Commons Vote Bundle each Monday, and is also available on the parliamentary website. Documents awaiting consideration by the Committee are listed in “Remaining Business”: The website also contains the Committee’s Reports.

*Explanatory Memoranda (EMs) and letters issued by the Ministers can be downloaded from the Cabinet Office website:


The staff of the Committee are Jessica Mulley (Clerk), Kilian Bourke, Alistair Dillon, Leigh Gibson, Foeke Noppert, Sibel Taner and George Wilson (Clerk Advisers), Arnold Ridout (Counsel for European Legislation), Joanne Dee and Emily Unwin (Deputy Counsels for European Legislation), Jeanne Delebarre (Second Clerk), Daniel Moeller (Senior Committee Assistant), Sue Beeby, Nat Ireton and Beatrice Woods (Committee Assistants), Ravi Abhayaratne and Paula Saunderson (Office Support Assistants).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the European Scrutiny Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is (020) 7219 3292/5467. The Committee’s email address is

Published: 22 January 2019