The progress of the UK’s negotiations on EU withdrawal: December 2017 to March 2018 Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Wednesday 25 October 2017

Rt Hon David Davis MP, Secretary of State, Department for Exiting the European Union


Wednesday 29 November 2017

Peter Hardwick, Head of Exports, Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board; James Hookham, Deputy Chief Executive, Freight Transport Association; Sian Thomas, Communications Manager, Fresh Produce Consortium; Duncan Brock, CIPS Group Director, Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply


Jon Thompson, Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary, HM Revenue and Customs; John Bourne, Policy Director of Animal and Plant Health, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs; Richard Everitt, Chairman, Port of Dover; Richard Ballantyne, Chief Executive, British Ports Association


Wednesday 7 December 2017

Simon York, Director, HMRC Fraud Investigation Service; Mike O’Grady, Deputy Head, Organised Crime Operations North, HMRC Fraud Investigation Service; Deputy Chief Constable Drew Harris, PSNI; and Assistant Chief Constable Stephen Martin, Head of Crime Operations, PSNI


Wednesday 13 December 2017

Professor Alexander Türk, Professor of Law, King’s College London; John Cassels, Partner, Competition, Regulatory and Trade Law, Fieldfisher LLP; and Dr Scott Steedman, Director of Standards, BSI and Vice President (policy), International Standards Organisation


Katherine Bennett, Senior Vice President, Airbus UK; Rod Ainsworth, Director of Regulatory and Legal Strategy, Food Standards Agency; Angela Hepworth, Director of Corporate Policy and Regulation, EDF UK; and Dr Ian Hudson, Chief Executive, Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency


Wednesday 20 December 2017

Professor Michael Dougan, Professor of European Law and Jean Monnet Chair in EU Law, University of Liverpool; Professor Anand Menon, Director, UK in a Changing Europe; Stephen Booth, Director of Policy and Research, Open Europe


Wednesday 10 January 2018

Professor Richard Whitman, Head of School, Professor Politics and International Relations, University of Kent; Fredrik Erixon, Director, European Centre for International Political Economy; Dr Stephen Woolcock, Associate Professor in International Relations, London School of Economics


Wednesday 17 January 2018

Christophe Bondy, Public International Lawyer at Cooley (UK) LLP and former senior counsel to Canada on the CETA negotiations; Dr Lorand Bartels, University of Cambridge and Senior Counsel, Linklaters; William Swords, President, UK-Canada Chamber of Commerce


Wednesday 18 January 2017

Professor Greg Hannon, Director, Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute; Professor Eilís Ferran, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Institutional International Relations, Cambridge University; Dr Andy Williams, Vice President Cambridge Strategy & Operations, AstraZeneca; and Michael Lawrence, Business Development Director, Deimos Space UK


Wednesday 24 January 2017

Rt Hon David Davis MP, Secretary of State, Department for Exiting the European Union


Wednesday 31 January 2018

Dmytro Tupchiienko, Data Protection Lawyer, EY, London; Michael Emerson, Associate Senior Research Fellow, Centre for European Policy Studies, Brussels; Dr Tamara Kovziridze, Co-founder, Reformatics, Tbilisi


Wednesday 6 February 2018

John Springford, Deputy Director, Centre for European Reform; Professor Clive Church, Emeritus Professor of European Studies, University of Kent; and Professor René Schwok, University of Geneva


Wednesday 7 February 2018

Professor George Yarrow, Chair of the Regulatory Policy Institute, Emeritus Fellow, Hertford College, Oxford, and visiting professor; Ulf Sverdrup, Director, Norwegian Institute of International Affairs; and Professor Alla Pozdnakova, Law Faculty, University of Oslo


Professor Carl Baudenbacher, Judge of the EFTA Court


Wednesday 21 February 2018

Emanuel Adam, Director of Policy and Trade, BritishAmerican Business; Dr Peter Holmes, Reader in Economics, University of Sussex; Dr Pinar Artiran, Assistant Professor, Bilgi University, Istanbul; Sam Lowe, Research Fellow, Centre for European Reforma


Wednesday 27 February 2018

Pascal Lamy, former Director-General, World Trade Organization


Published: 18 March 2018