Building Bridges: Reawakening UK-India ties Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling) (Chair)

Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Stephen Gethins MP (Scottish National Party, North East Fife)

Conor McGinn MP (Labour, St Helens North)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Priti Patel MP (Conservative, Witham)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Bob Seely MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

Royston Smith MP (Conservative, Southampton, Itchen)

Catherine West MP (Labour, Hornsey and Wood Green)

The following Members were also Members of the Committee during this inquiry

Ian Austin MP (Independent, Dudley North)

Mike Gapes MP (Change UK – The Independent Group, Ilford South)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Samir Amar Setti (Clerk), Hannah Bryce (Clerk), Estelle Currie (Media Officer), Zara Emmett (Committee Assistant), Clare Genis (Senior Committee Assistant), Ashlee Godwin (Senior Committee Specialist), Tom Goldsmith (Clerk), Adrian Hitchens (Committee Specialist), Dr Ariella Huff (Senior Committee Specialist), Emma Makey (Committee Specialist), Ffion Morgan (Committee Researcher), Hannah Stone (Committee Specialist) and Nicholas Wade (Committee Specialist).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6105; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsForeign.

Published: 24 June 2019