The UK’s relations with Turkey: Government Response to the Committee’s Tenth Report of Session 2016–17

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling) (Chair)

Ian Austin MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mike Gapes MP (Labour (Co-op), Ilford South)

Stephen Gethins MP (Scottish National Party, North East Fife)

Ms Nusrat Ghani MP (Conservative, Wealden)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Royston Smith MP (Conservative, Southampton, Itchen)

Nadhim Zahawi MP (Conservative, Stratford-on-Avon)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Chris Stanton (Clerk), Zoe Oliver-Watts (Second Clerk), Dr Ariella Huff (Senior Committee Specialist), Ashlee Godwin, Dr Eoin Martin and Nicholas Wade (Committee Specialists), Clare Genis (Senior Committee Assistant), James Hockaday and Su Panchanathan (Committee Assistants), and Estelle Currie (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6105; the Committee’s email address is

20 September 2017