Kurdish aspirations and the interests of the UK: Government response to the Committee’s Third Report

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling) (Chair)

Ian Austin MP (Labour, Dudley North)

Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Mike Gapes MP (Labour (Co-op), Ilford South)

Stephen Gethins MP (Scottish National Party, North East Fife)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Priti Patel MP (Conservative, Witham)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Bob Seely MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

Royston Smith MP (Conservative, Southampton, Itchen)

The following Members were also members of the Committee during the Parliament:

Ms Nusrat Ghani MP and Nadhim Zahawi MP


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/facom and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Tom Goldsmith (Clerk), Zoe Oliver-Watts (Second Clerk), Hannah Bryce (Clerk), Dr Ariella Huff (Senior Committee Specialist), Ashlee Godwin, Dr Eoin Martin, Hannah Stone and Nicholas Wade (Committee Specialists), Clare Genis (Senior Committee Assistant), Alyna Poremba and Zara Emmett (Committee Assistants) and Estelle Currie (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 6105; the Committee’s email address is fac@parliament.uk.

Published: 20 April 2018