NHS Long-term Plan: legislative proposals Contents

Health and Social Care Committee

The Health and Social Care Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Department of Health & Social Care.

Current membership

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Independent, Totnes) (Chair)

Luciana Berger MP (Independent, Liverpool, Wavertree)

Mr Ben Bradshaw MP (Labour, Exeter)

Rosie Cooper MP (Labour, West Lancashire)

Angela Crawley MP (Scottish National Party, Lanark and Hamilton East)

Diana Johnson MP (Labour, Kingston upon Hull North)

Johnny Mercer MP (Conservative, Plymouth, Moor View)

Andrew Selous MP (Conservative, South West Bedfordshire)

Derek Thomas MP (Conservative, St Ives)

Martin Vickers MP (Conservative, Cleethorpes)

Dr Paul Williams MP (Labour, Stockton South)

The following Members were members of the Committee during the Session

Dr Lisa Cameron MP (Scottish National Party, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow)

Dr Caroline Johnson MP (Conservative, Sleaford and North Hykeham)

Maggie Throup MP (Conservative, Erewash)

Dr Philippa Whitford MP (Scottish National Party, Central Ayrshire)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/copyright.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/hsccom and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Huw Yardley (Clerk), Masrur Ahmed (Second Clerk), Laura Daniels (Senior Committee Specialist), Lewis Pickett (Committee Specialist), Joe Freer (Clinical Fellow), Cecilia Santi O Desanti (Senior Committee Assistant), Ed Hamill (Committee Assistant), and Joe Williams (Media Officer).

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsHealth


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Health and Social Care Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA.

The telephonenumber for general enquiries is 020 7219 6182; the Committee’s email address is hsccom@parliament.uk.

Published: 24 June 2019