The effectiveness and influence of the select committee system Contents

The Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

Current membership

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Liberal Democrat, Totnes) (Chair)

The Chairs of the following Select Committees are members of the Liaison Committee:

Administration—Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Backbench Business—Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy—Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Defence—Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East)

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport—Damian Collins MP (Conservative, Folkestone and Hythe)

Education—Robert Halfon MP (Conservative, Harlow)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs—Neil Parish MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)

Environmental Audit—Mary Creagh MP (Labour, Wakefield)

European Scrutiny—Sir William Cash MP (Conservative, Stone)

European Statutory Instruments—Sir Patrick McLoughlin MP (Conservative, Derbyshire Dales)

Exiting the European Union—Hilary Benn MP (Labour, Leeds Central)

Finance—Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Foreign Affairs—Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Health and Social Care—Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Independent, Totnes)

Home Affairs—Yvette Cooper MP (Labour, Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford)

Housing, Communities and Local Government—Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield South East)

Human Rights (Joint Committee)—Ms Harriet Harman MP (Labour, Camberwell and Peckham)

International Development—Stephen Twigg MP (Labour (Co-op), Liverpool, West Derby)

International Trade—Angus Brendan MacNeil MP (Scottish National Party, Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

Justice—Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst)

Northern Ireland Affairs—Simon Hoare MP (Conservative, North Dorset)

Petitions—Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Procedure—Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)

Public Accounts—Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch)

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs—Sir Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex)

Regulatory Reform—Stephen McPartland MP (Conservative, Stevenage)

Science and Technology—Norman Lamb MP (Liberal Democrat, North Norfolk)

Scottish Affairs—Pete Wishart MP (Scottish National Party, Perth and North Perthshire)

Selection—Bill Wiggin MP (Conservative, North Herefordshire)

Standards—Kate Green MP (Labour, Stretford Urmston)

Statutory Instruments (Joint Committee)—Jessica Morden MP (Labour, Newport East)

Transport—Lilian Greenwood MP (Labour, Nottingham South)


Welsh Affairs—David T. C. Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth)

Women and Equalities—Maria Miller MP (Conservative, Basingstoke)

Work and Pensions—Frank Field MP (Independent, Birkenhead)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 145. The Standing Orders are available on the Internet via


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

Committee reports are published on the publications page of the Committee website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Lucinda Maer (Clerk), Tamsin Maddock (Second Clerk), Richard Dawson (Senior Committee Assistant), and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).

For this report they were assisted by Paul Evans.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Liaison Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5675; the Committee’s email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Liz Parratt on 020 7219 1708.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsLiaison

Published: 9 September 2019