Changing committee practice and procedure: enhancing effective working Contents

The Liaison Committee

The Liaison Committee is appointed to consider general matters relating to the work of select committees; to advise the House of Commons Commission on select committees; to choose select committee reports for debate in the House and to hear evidence from the Prime Minister on matters of public policy.

Current membership

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Conservative, Totnes) (Chair)

The Chairs of the following Select Committees are members of the Liaison Committee:

Administration—Sir Paul Beresford MP (Conservative, Mole Valley)

Backbench Business—Ian Mearns MP (Labour, Gateshead)

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy—Rachel Reeves MP (Labour, Leeds West)

Defence—Dr Julian Lewis MP (Conservative, New Forest East)

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport—Damian Collins MP (Conservative, Folkestone and Hythe)

Education—Robert Halfon MP (Conservative, Harlow)

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs—Neil Parish MP (Conservative, Tiverton and Honiton)

Environmental Audit—Mary Creagh MP (Labour, Wakefield)

European Scrutiny—Sir William Cash MP (Conservative, Stone)

Exiting the European Union—Hilary Benn MP (Labour, Leeds Central)

Finance—Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Foreign Affairs—Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling)

Health and Social Care—Dr Sarah Wollaston MP— (Conservative, Totnes)

Home Affairs—Yvette Cooper MP (Labour, Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford)

Housing, Communities and Local Government—Mr Clive Betts MP (Labour, Sheffield South East)

International Development—Stephen Twigg MP (Labour (Co-op), Liverpool, West Derby)

International Trade—Angus Brendan MacNeil MP (Scottish National Party, Na h-Eileanan an Iar)

Justice—Robert Neill MP (Conservative, Bromley and Chislehurst)

Northern Ireland Affairs—Dr Andrew Murrison MP (Conservative, South West Wiltshire)

Petitions—Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North)

Privileges—Sir Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley)

Procedure—Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne)

Public Accounts—Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch)

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs—Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex)

Regulatory Reform—Stephen McPartland MP (Conservative, Stevenage)

Science and Technology—Norman Lamb MP (Liberal Democrat, North Norfolk)

Scottish Affairs—Pete Wishart MP (Scottish National Party, Perth and North Perthshire)

Selection—Bill Wiggin MP (Conservative, North Herefordshire)

Standards—Sir Kevin Barron MP (Labour, Rother Valley)

Statutory Instruments—Derek Twigg MP (Labour, Halton)

Transport—Lilian Greenwood MP (Labour, Nottingham South)

Treasury—Nicky Morgan MP (Conservative, Loughborough)

Welsh Affairs—David T. C. Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth)

Women and Equalities—Maria Miller MP (Conservative, Basingstoke)

Work and Pensions—Frank Field MP (Labour, Birkenhead)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 145. The Standing Orders are available on the Internet via


Committee reports are published on the publications page of the Commitee website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sarah Hartwell-Naguib (Clerk), Anita Fuki (Senior Committee Assistant), and Liz Parratt (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Liaison Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5657; the Committee’s email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to Liz Parratt on 020 7219 1708.

29 March 2018