The land border between Northern Ireland and Ireland Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Wednesday 11 October 2017

Dr Katy Hayward, Lecturer in Sociology, Queen’s University Belfast, Paul Mac Flynn, Senior Economist, Nevin Economic Research Institute, Dr Sylvia de Mars, Lecturer in Law, Newcastle Law School


Wednesday 1 November 2017

Dr Christian Bock, Director General, Federal Customs Administration (Switzerland), and Lieutenant Colonel Rebekka Straessle, Chief of Staff, Swiss Border Guard


Kristin Breiland, Directorate of Norwegian Customs, and Liv Kristin Rundberget, Assistant Director, Directorate of Norwegian Customs


Wednesday 15 November 2017

The Hon Fabian Picardo MP, Chief Minister of Gibraltar, The Hon Joseph John Garcia MP, Deputy Chief Minister of Gibraltar, and Michael Llamas QC, Attorney General of Gibraltar


Wednesday 29 November 2017

Chloe Smith MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Northern Ireland Office, and Mr Robin Walker MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department for Exiting the European Union.


Monday 22 January 2018

Michel Barnier, European Chief Negotiator for the United Kingdom Exiting the European Union


The following witnesses gave evidence on Future of the land border with the Republic of Ireland to the previous Northern Ireland Affairs Committee before the general election in 2017. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Wednesday 16 November 2016

Professor Michael Dougan, Professor of European Law and Jean Monnet Chair in EU Law, University of Liverpool, Professor Peter Shirlow, Director of the Institute of Irish Studies, University of Liverpool, and Dr Stephanie Reynolds, Lecturer in Law, University of Liverpool


Wednesday 23 November 2016

Professor Dagmar Schiek, Professor of EU Law, Queen’s University Belfast, Dr Katy Hayward, Senior Lecturer in Sociology, Queen’s University Belfast, and Professor Cathal McCall, Professor in European Politics, Queen’s University Belfast


Wednesday 30 November 2016

Dr Conor Patterson, Chief Executive, Newry and Mourne Co-operative and Enterprise Agency, Peter Conway, CEO, Warrenpoint Harbour, Michael Blaney, Managing Director, Autoline Insurance Group


Tuesday 13 December 2016

George Hamilton QPM, Chief Constable, and Will Kerr OBE, Assistant Chief Constable, Police Service of Northern Ireland


Wednesday 11 January 2017

Wesley Aston, CEO, Ulster Farmers’ Union, Barclay Bell, President, Ulster Farmers’ Union, Dr Mike Johnston, Northern Ireland Director, Dairy UK, Tim Acheson, General Manager, Food Service Operations, Lakeland Dairies


Monday 16 January 2017

Michael Gallagher, Strategy Manager, and Richard Osterhus, Funding Manager, Derry City and Strabane District Council, and Michael Tunney, Head of Enterprise and Economic Development, Donegal County Council


Toni Forrester, Chief Executive, Letterkenny Chamber of Commerce, and Sinead McLaughlin, Chief Executive, and Gavin Killeen, Member, Londonderry Chamber of Commerce


Wednesday 1 February 2017

Michael Lux, EU customs and international trade lawyer; Eric Pickett, EU customs and international trade lawyer


Wednesday 8 February 2017

Daniel Mulhall, Ambassador of Ireland to the UK


Wednesday 22 February 2017

Stephen Kelly, Chief Executive, Manufacturing NI, Colin Hayburn, Executive Director, Almac Group, Graeme McBurney, President and Managing Director, Almac Pharma Services


Wednesday 15 March 2017

Shane Clarke, Director of Corporate Services and Policy, Tourism Ireland, Paul Cullen, Head of IT and Business Systems, CIE Tours International, Janice Gault, Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Hotels Federation, Colin Neill, Chief Executive, Hospitality Ulster


Wednesday 29 March 2017

Patrick Casement, Chair, Northern Ireland Environment Link, Rebecca Hunter, Living Seas Manager, Ulster Wildlife, Victoria Magreehan, External Affairs Consultant, National Trust, John Martin, Conservation Team Leader for Land Use and Marine Policy, RSPBNI


Published: 16 March 2018