HM Government support for UK victims of IRA attacks that used Gaddafi-supplied Semtex and weapons: Government Response to the Committee’s Fourth Report of Session 2016–17

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Northern Ireland Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

Current membership

Dr Andrew Murrison MP (Conservative, South West Wiltshire) (Chair)

Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry)

Maria Caulfield MP (Conservative, Lewes)

Mr Stephen Hepburn MP (Labour, Jarrow)

Lady Hermon MP (Independent, North Down)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Jack Lopresti MP (Conservative, Filton and Bradley Stoke)

Conor McGinn MP (Labour, St Helens North)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Ian Paisley MP (Democratic Unionist Party, North Antrim)

Jim Shannon MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Strangford)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

Margaret McKinnon (Clerk), Elektra Garvie-Adams (Committee Specialist), John Hitchcock (Senior Committee Assistant) and George Perry (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2173; the Committee’s email address is

14 September 2017