Term limits for select committee chairs in the 2017 Parliament Contents

Procedure Committee

The Procedure Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider the practice and procedure of the House in the conduct of public business, and to make recommendations.

Current membership

Mr Charles Walker MP (Conservative, Broxbourne) (Chair)

Bob Blackman MP (Conservative, Harrow East)

Mr Peter Bone MP (Conservative, Wellingborough)

Dan Carden MP (Labour, Liverpool, Walton)

Bambos Charalambous MP (Labour, Enfield, Southgate)

Sir Christopher Chope MP (Conservative, Christchurch)

Nic Dakin MP (Labour, Scunthorpe)

Chris Elmore MP (Labour, Ogmore)

David Evennett MP (Conservative, Bexleyheath and Crayford)

Helen Goodman MP (Labour, Bishop Auckland)

Mr Ranil Jayawardena MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

David Linden MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow East)

Melanie Onn MP (Labour, Great Grimsby)

Nick Smith MP (Labour, Blaenau Gwent)

Alison Thewliss MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow Central)

Mr William Wragg MP (Conservative, Hazel Grove)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 147. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/proccom and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Martyn Atkins (Clerk), Leoni Kurt (Second Clerk), Jim Lawford (Committee Assistant), and Alasdair Rendall (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Procedure Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3351; the Committee’s email address is proccom@parliament.uk.

7 February 2018