The Future of the Union, part two: Inter-institutional relations in the UK: Government Response to the Sixth Report from the Committee, Session 2016–17

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs

The Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the reports of the Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration and the Health Service Commissioner for England, which are laid before this House, and matters in connection therewith; to consider matters relating to the quality and standards of administration provided by civil service departments, and other matters relating to the civil service; and to consider constitutional affairs.

Current membership

Mr Bernard Jenkin MP (Conservative, Harwich and North Essex) (Chair)

Ronnie Cowan MP (Scottish National Party, Inverclyde)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

Mr Marcus Fysh MP (Conservative, Yeovil)

Mrs Cheryl Gillan MP (Conservative, Chesham and Amersham)

Kelvin Hopkins MP (Labour, Luton North)

Dr Rupa Huq MP (Labour, Ealing Central and Acton)

Mr David Jones MP (Conservative, Clwyd West)

Sandy Martin MP (Labour, Ipswich)

David Morris MP (Conservative, Morecambe and Lunesdale)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Dr Rebecca Davies and Rhiannon Hollis (Clerks), Ian Bradshaw (Second Clerk), Jonathan Bayliss, Dr Philip Larkin, Penny McLean, Dr Patrick Thomas and Rebecca Usden (Committee Specialists), Ana Ferreira (Senior Committee Assistant), Iwona Hankin (Committee Assistant), and Alex Paterson (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 3268; the Committee’s email address is

16 October 2017