UK arms exports during 2016: Government Response to the Committees’ First Joint Report

Committees on Arms Export Controls

The Committees on Arms Export Controls consists of the: Defence Committee, Foreign Affairs Committee, International Development Committee and the International Trade Committee. These four committees work together because each has an interest in arms exports as part of their responsibility to scrutinise their respective Government department.

Current membership

Graham P Jones MP (Labour, Hyndburn) (Chair)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Leo Docherty MP (Conservative, Aldershot)

Mr Nigel Evans MP (Conservative, Ribble Valley)

Mr Marcus Fysh MP (Conservative, Yeovil)

Mike Gapes MP (Labour Co-op, Ilford South)

Mr Ranil Jayawardena MP (Conservative, North East Hampshire)

Mrs Pauline Latham MP (Conservative, Mid Derbyshire)

Chris Law MP (Scottish National Party, Dundee West)

Emma Little Pengelly MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Belfast South)

Priti Patel MP (Conservative, Witham)

Faisal Rashid MP (Labour, Warrington South)

Gavin Robinson MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Belfast East)

Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP (Labour Co-op, Brighton, Kemptown)

Mr Bob Seely (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

Henry Smith MP (Conservative, Crawley)

Stephen Twigg MP (Labour Co-op, Liverpool, West Derby)

Catherine West MP (Labour, Hornsey and Wood Green)


The Committees are departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in the House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. The powers of the Committees to work together and agree joint reports are set out in Standing Order No. 137A. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the relevant inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Simon Fiander (Clerk), Ian Thomson (Committee Specialist) and Matthew Chappell (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Committees on Arms Export Controls, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 1812; the Committee’s email address is Media inquiries should be addressed to George Perry on 020 7219 8430.

Published: 29 November 2018