The future of working practices in Scotland: Government Response to the Committee’s Second Report

The Scottish Affairs Committee

The Scottish Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Scotland Office (including (i) relations with the Scottish Parliament and (ii) administration and expenditure of the offices of the Advocate General for Scotland (but excluding individual cases and advice given within government by the Advocate General)).

Current membership

Pete Wishart MP (Scottish National Party, Perth and North Perthshire) (Chair)

Deidre Brock MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh North and Leith)

David Duguid MP (Conservative, Banff and Buchan)

Hugh Gaffney MP (Labour, Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill)

Christine Jardine MP (Liberal Democrat, Edinburgh West)

Ged Killen MP (Labour (Co-op), Rutherglen and Hamilton West)

John Lamont MP (Conservative, Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk)

Paul Masterton MP (Conservative, East Renfrewshire)

Danielle Rowley MP (Labour, Midlothian)

Tommy Sheppard MP (Scottish National Party, Edinburgh East)

Ross Thomson MP (Conservative, Aberdeen South)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Ben Williams (Clerk), Laura-Jane Tiley (Second Clerk), Allen Gallagher (Inquiry Manager), Ben Rayner (Committee Specialist), Chloe Freeman (Senior Committee Assistant), Robert McQuade (Committee Assistant), and George Perry (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Scottish Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8204; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 24 May 2018