Balance and effectiveness of research and innovation spending Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 20 November 2018

Sir Paul Nurse, Director, The Francis Crick Institute, Kirsten Bound, Executive Director of Research, Analysis and Policy, Nesta, Professor James Wilsdon, Professor of Research Policy, University of Sheffield, and Chair, Academy of Social Sciences Policy Working Group, and Dr Sarah Main, Executive Director, Campaign for Science and Engineering


Ernesto Fernandez Polcuch, Chief of Section, Science Policy and Partnerships, UNESCO, Paris, Professor Jakob Edler, Executive Director, Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research, Germany, and Dr Jos van den Broek, Senior Researcher, Rathenau Instituut, Netherlands


Professor Paul Nightingale, Professor of Strategy, Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex, and (designate) Director of Strategy and Operations, ESRC, and Professor Joanna Chataway, Head of Department, Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy, University College London, and Deputy Director of Science Policy Research Unit, University of Sussex


Tuesday 18 December 2018

Keith Thompson, Chair, Catapult CEO network, and CEO, Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult, Professor Richard Brook, President, Association of Innovation, Research & Technology Organisations, David Connell, Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Business Research, Cambridge Judge Business School, and Felicity Burch, Director of Innovation and Digital, Confederation of British Industry


Dr Robert Massey, Deputy Executive Director, Royal Astronomical Society, Professor Dame Ann Dowling, President, Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Neil Hall, Director, Earlham Institute, and Dr Charmaine Griffiths, Chief Operating Officer, The Institute of Cancer Research


Thursday 28 February 2019

Professor Graeme Reid, Professor of Science and Research Policy, UCL, Professor Colette Fagan, Russell Group, and Gordon McKenzie, Chief Executive, GuildHE


Dr Peter O’Brien, Executive Director, Yorkshire Universities, Professor Jonathan Seckl, Vice-Principal, Planning, Resources and Research Policy, University of Edinburgh, Professor Anthony Hollander, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research and Impact, University of Liverpool, and Sarah Haywood, Chief Executive, MedCity


Tuesday 26 March 2019

Sir Mark Walport, Chief Executive, and Rebecca Endean, Director of Strategy, UK Research and Innovation


Chris Skidmore MP, Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation, Jenny Dibden, Director, Science Research and Innovation, and Harriet Wallace, Director, International Science and Innovation Directorate, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy


Published: 12 September 2019