Balance and effectiveness of research and innovation spending Contents

Published written evidence

The following written evidence was received and can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

BER numbers are generated by the evidence processing system and so may not be complete.

1Academy of Medical Sciences (BER0069)

2Academy of Social Sciences (BER0034)

3AIRTO Ltd (BER0013)

4Alex Stobart (BER0102)

5Alzheimer’s Research UK (BER0027)

6Anderson Law LLP (BER0001)

7Association of Medical Research Charities (BER0049)

8BAE Systems plc (BER0003)

9BioIndustry Association (BER0030), (BER0101)

10Campaign for Science and Engineering (BER0065)

11Cancer Research UK (BER0043)

12Coventry University (BER0023)

13Denise Yates (BER0105)

14Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BER0064), (BER0090), (BER0096)

15Design Council (BER0085)

16Designability (BER0009)

17Dr Rachel Oliver and others (BER0056)

18Dr Stuart Calimport (BER0074)

19Earlham Institute (BER0071), (BER0084), (BER0099)

20Fight for Sight (BER0046)

21Fleet Renewables Ltd (BER0100)

22Greater London Authority and MedCity (BER0015)

23GuildHE (BER0055)

24GW4 Alliance (BER0045)

25Iain MacKenzie (BER0104)

26Imperial College London (BER0067)

27Intergenerational Foundation (BER0103)

28Jisc (BER0047)

29John Innes Centre (BER0066)

30King’s College London (BER0054)

31Knowledge Transfer Network (BER0048)

32MedCity (BER0093)

33Medical Schools Council (BER0028)

34Miricyl (BER0106)

35Mr David Connell (BER0006), (BER0082)

36Mr Jasper Tomlinson (BER0007)

37Mr Jerome Jackson (BER0092) (BER0094)

38MSD (BER0041)

39National Physical Laboratory (BER0031)

40Nesta (BER0072), (BER0081)

41Norwich Research Park (BER0079)

42Photonics Leadership Group (BER0058)

43PraxisAuril (BER0075)

44Prime Minister’s Council for Science and Technology (BER0088)

45Productivity Insights Network and Innovation Caucus (BER0059)

46Professor Andrew Webster (BER0077)

47Professor Dame Athene Donald (BER0019)

48Professor Evan Parker, University of Warwick (BER0010)

49Professor Graeme Reid, University College London (BER0097)

50Professor Joanna Chataway (BER0078)

51Professor Jonathan Jones, The Sainsbury Laboratory (BER0020)

52Professor Michael Ferguson (BER0005)

53Professors Richard Jones and Professor James Wilsdon, University of Sheffield (BER0051)

54Prospect (BER0017)

55Rodney Basford (BER0095)

56Rolls-Royce (BER0022)

57Rothamsted Research (BER0057)

58Royal Academy of Engineering (BER0061)

59Royal Astronomical Society (BER0018)

60Royal Society of Biology (BER0076)

61Royal Society of Chemistry (BER0037)

62Royal Society of Edinburgh / Learned Society of Wales (BER0073)

63Russell Group (BER0060), (BER0091)


65The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry (ABPI) (BER0062)

66The British Academy (BER0042)

67The British Academy of Management (BAM) and the Chartered Association of Business Schools (Chartered ABS) (BER0029)

68The Catapult Network (BER0032)

69The Confederation of British Industry (CBI) (BER0026)

70The Geological Society (BER0053)

71The Institute of Cancer Research (BER0025), (BER0086)

72The Physiological Society (BER0039)

73The Royal Society (BER0070)

74The Shelford Group (BER0035)

75TWI Ltd (BER0038)

76UCL (BER0014)

77UK Computing Research Committee (BER0004)

78UK Innovation & Science Seed Fund (BER0050)

79UK Research and Innovation (BER0063), (BER0098)

80UNESCO (BER0080)

81Universities Scotland (BER0016)

82Universities UK (BER0044), (BER0089)

83Universities Wales (BER0033)

84University of Edinburgh (BER0008)

85University of Nottingham (BER0052)

86University of Oxford (BER0021)

87University of Reading (BER0040)

88Wellcome Trust (BER0068)

89WMG (BER0012)

90Yorkshire Universities (BER0024)

Published: 12 September 2019