E-cigarettes Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 9 January 2018

Professor Peter Hajek, Professor of Clinical Psychology, Queen Mary University of London; Professor Mark Conner, Professor of Applied Social Psychology, University of Leeds; and Professor Riccardo Polosa, Professor of Internal Medicine, University of Catania


Dr Lion Shahab, Senior Lecturer in Health Psychology, University College London; Dr Jamie Brown, Deputy Director, Tobacco and Alcohol Research Group, University College London; and Professor Paul Aveyard, Co-ordinating Editor, Cochrane Tobacco Addiction Group


Tuesday 27 February 2018

Dr Ian Jones, Vice-President, Reduced-Risk Products, Japan Tobacco International; Dr Chris Proctor, Chief Scientific Officer, British American Tobacco; Dr Moira Gilchrist, Vice-President, Scientific and Public Communications, Philip Morris Limited; and Dr Grant O’Connell, Regulatory and Scientific Affairs, Fontem Ventures


Professor David Harrison, Chair of the UK Committee on Carcinogenicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment (COC); and Dr Lynne Dawkins, Associate Professor, Centre for Addictive Behaviours Research, London South Bank University


Tuesday 27 March 2018

Michelle Jarman-Howe, Executive Director, Public Sector Prisons South; and Heather Thomson, Smoke-free Lead, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust


Deborah Arnott, Chief Executive, Action on Smoking and Health; and Hazel Cheeseman, Director of Policy, Action on Smoking and Health


Tuesday 24 April 2018

Rob Morrison, Senior Regulatory Policy Executive, Advertising Standards Authority; Professor John Newton, Director of Health Improvement, Public Health England; Professor Gillian Leng, Deputy Chief Executive, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence; and Dr Ian Hudson, Chief Executive, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency


Steve Brine MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Public Health and Primary Care; and Dr Tim Baxter, Deputy Director of Healthy Behaviours, Department of Health and Social Care


Wednesday 9 May 2018

John Dunne, Director, UK Vaping Industry Association; Fraser Cropper, Chair, Independent British Vape Trade Association; and Sarah Jakes, Chair, New Nicotine Alliance


Published: 17 August 2018