Twelfth Report of Session 2017-19 Contents

Select Committee on Statutory Instruments

Current membership

Jessica Morden MP (Labour, Newport East) (Chair)

Dan Carden MP (Labour, Liverpool, Walton)

Vicky Foxcroft MP (Labour, Lewisham, Deptford)

Patrick Grady MP (Scottish National Party, Glasgow North)

John Lamont MP (Conservative, Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk)

Julia Lopez MP (Conservative, Hornchurch and Upminster)

Sir Robert Syms MP (Conservative, Poole)


The full constitution and powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Order No. 151, available on the Internet via

The Select Committee on Statutory Instruments (SCSI) is appointed to consider statutory instruments made in exercise of powers granted by Act of Parliament. It carries out the same duties as the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments in respect of those instruments laid before and subject to proceedings in the House of Commons only.

The role of the SCSI, whose membership is drawn from the House of Commons, is to assess the technical qualities of each instrument that falls within its remit and to decide whether to draw the special attention of the House to any instrument on one or more of the following grounds:

  1. that it imposes, or sets the amount of, a charge on public revenue or that it requires payment for a licence, consent or service to be made to the Exchequer, a government department or a public or local authority, or sets the amount of the payment;
  2. that its parent legislation says that it cannot be challenged in the courts;
  3. that it appears to have retrospective effect without the express authority of the parent legislation;
  4. that there appears to have been unjustifiable delay in publishing it or laying it before Parliament;
  5. that there appears to have been unjustifiable delay in sending a notification under the proviso to section 4(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, where the instrument has come into force before it has been laid;
  6. that there appears to be doubt about whether there is power to make it or that it appears to make an unusual or unexpected use of the power to make;
  7. that its form or meaning needs to be explained;
  8. that its drafting appears to be defective;
  9. or on any other ground which does not go to its merits or the policy behind it.

The Committee usually meets weekly when Parliament is sitting.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The reports of the Committee are published in print by Order of the House. All publications of the Committee are available on the Internet from

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Jeanne Delebarre (Commons Clerk) and Liz Booth (Committee Assistant). Advisory Counsel: Daniel Greenberg, Klara Banaszak, Peter Brooksbank, Philip Davies and Vanessa MacNair.


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Joint Committee on Statutory Instruments, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general inquiries is: 020 7219 2026; the Committee’s email address is:

Published: 8 March 2019