Re-appointment of Dr Gertjan Vlieghe to the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee Contents


1.The Treasury announced the re-appointment of Dr Vlieghe as an external member of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Bank of England on 30 January 2018. His re-appointment takes effect from 1 September 2018 for a period of three years.1

2.In this report, the Committee has considered the suitability of Dr Vlieghe for this continuing role against the criteria of personal independence and professional competence.

3.The Committee took oral evidence from Dr Vlieghe on 22 May 2018. He provided a full CV and answered a written questionnaire prior to giving oral evidence. The Committee thanks Dr Vlieghe for this evidence.

Published: 24 May 2018