Re-appointment of Sir Jon Cunliffe as Deputy Governor for Financial Stability at the Bank of England Contents

The Treasury Committee

The Treasury Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of HM Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies

Current membership

Nicky Morgan MP (Conservative, Loughborough) (Chair)

Rushanara Ali MP (Labour, Bethnal Green and Bow)

Mr Simon Clarke MP (Conservative, Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland)

Charlie Elphicke MP (Independent, Dover)

Stephen Hammond MP (Conservative, Wimbledon)

Stewart Hosie MP (Scottish National Party, Dundee East)

Mr Alister Jack MP (Conservative, Dumfries and Galloway)

Alison McGovern MP (Labour, Wirral South)

Catherine McKinnell MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North)

John Mann MP (Labour, Bassetlaw)

Wes Streeting MP (Labour, Ilford North)


The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Sarah Rees (Clerk), Peter Stam (Second Clerk), Marcus Wilton and Dan Lee (Senior Economists), Adam Wales (Chief Policy Adviser), Nick Berry (Committee Support Assistant), Matt Panteli (Senior Media and Policy Officer), Anne Stark (on secondment from HM Revenue & Customs), Tom Ludlow (on secondment from the Bank of England), Carolyn Draper (on secondment from the Financial Conduct Authority), Ria Gill-Williams (on secondment from the National Audit Office) and Sarah Goodwin (on secondment from the Prudential Regulation Authority).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Treasury Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 5769; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 18 October 2018