The cancellation of rail electrification in South Wales Contents

Welsh Affairs Committee

The Welsh Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Office of the Secretary of State for Wales (including relations with the National Assembly for Wales).

Current membership

David T. C. Davies MP (Conservative, Monmouth) (Chair)

Tonia Antoniazzi MP (Labour, Gower)

Chris Davies MP (Conservative, Brecon and Radnorshire)

Geraint Davies MP (Labour (Co-op), Swansea West)

Glyn Davies MP (Conservative, Montgomeryshire)

Paul Flynn MP (Labour, Newport West)

Simon Hoare MP (Conservative, North Dorset)

Susan Elan Jones MP (Labour, Clwyd South)

Ben Lake MP (Plaid Cymru, Ceredigion)

Anna McMorrin MP (Labour, Cardiff North)

Liz Saville Roberts MP (Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Kevin Maddison (Clerk), Ed Faulkner (Second Clerk), Anna Sanders (Inquiry Manager), Rhiannon Williams (Committee Specialist), Susan Ramsay (Senior Committee Assistant), Kelly Tunnicliffe (Committee Assistant), George Perry (Media Officer) and Ben Shave (Media Officer).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Welsh Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 8363; the Committee’s email address is

Published: 21 May 2018