Benefit Sanctions Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Wednesday 16 May 2018

Tony Wilson, Director of Policy and Research, Learning and Work Institute; Matthew Oakley, independent reviewer of JSA sanctions; and Dr David Webster, Honorary Senior Research Fellow (Urban Studies), University of Glasgow.


Jen Fidai, Benefit claimant; Luke O’Donnell, Benefit claimant; and Samantha, Benefit claimant.


Wednesday 20 June 2018

Sumi Rabindrakumar, Research Officer, Gingerbread, Ayaz Manji, Policy and Campaigns Officer, Mind, Maeve McGoldrick, Head of Policy and Campaigns, Crisis, and Iain Porter, Policy Officer, Poverty and Inequality, The Children’s Society.


Professor Peter Dwyer, Director of Research for joint university project, Anna Bird, Executive Director for Policy and Research, Scope, and Martin Williams, Welfare Rights Worker, Child Poverty Action Group.


Ed Boyd, Managing Director, Centre for Social Justice, Kirsty McHugh, Chief Executive, Employment Related Services Association, and Kayley Hignell, Head of Policy (Families, Welfare and Work), Citizens Advice.


Wednesday 27 June 2018

Alok Sharma MP, Minister of State for Employment, Neil Couling CBE, Director, Universal Credit Programme, Iain Walsh, Director of Labour Market Strategy & International Affairs and Colin Stewart, Area Director (North), Department for Work and Pensions.


Published: 06 November 2018