Special educational needs and disabilities Contents


The following witnesses gave evidence. Transcripts can be viewed on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Tuesday 3 July 2018

Stephen Kingdom, Campaign Manager, Disabled Children’s Partnership, Brian Lamb OBE, Chair, Inquiry into Parental Confidence in Special Educational Needs, Rt Hon Baroness Warnock, Chair, Committee of Inquiry on Special Educational Needs


Tuesday 23 October 2018

Justin Cooke, Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Ambitious about Autism, Matt Keer, Parent & contributor to the Special Needs Jungle website, Julie Cordiner, Education Funding Specialist, School Financial Success


Alyson Shields, Head of Education and Supported Learning, New College Durham, Helen Wallace, Headteacher, Thameside Primary School, David Clarke, Deputy Director for Education, Oxfordshire County Council, Dr Jackie Lown, Head of Children and Young People, Specialist Services, East Riding of Yorkshire Council


Tuesday 20 November 2018

Amanda Batten, Chair of the Disabled Children’s Partnership, Dame Christine Lenehan, Director, Council for Disabled Children, Jean Gross, Chair, Bercow Ten Years On Review, John Harris, journalist and parent of a child with SEND, Mark Lever, Chief Executive, National Autistic Society, Steve Haines, Executive Director for Policy and Campaigns, The National Deaf Children’s Society, Tara Flood, Director, ALLFIE


Tuesday 4 December 2018

George Holroyd, Kathleen Redcliffe, Carl Rogers, Parents


Mrunal Sisodia, Co-Chair, National Network of Parent Carer Forums, Penny Hoffman-Becking, Trustee and steering group member of SEND Family Voices, Beth Foster, Education Lead, Hampshire Parent Carer Network


Tuesday 15 January 2019

Tania Beard, Headteacher, St Martin’s C of E Primary and Nursery School, Jon Boyes, Principal, Herne Bay High School, Penny Earl, Resource Provision Manager, Stoke Park Infant School, Sabrina Hobbs, Principal, Severndale Specialist Academy, Nicola Jones-Ford, SENCo, Fulham College Boys’ School, Dr Cath Lowther, Educational Psychologist, Callum Wetherill, Pastoral Leader, Joseph Norton Academy


Tuesday 29 January 2019

Beatrice Barleon, Policy Development Manager, Mencap, Bernie White, Chair, Natspec, Caroline Archer, Employment Service Manager, Action on Disability, David Ellis, Chief Executive, National Star, Di Roberts, chair of the Association of Colleges’ SEN Group, Janine Cherrington, Head of Service, Transition2, Linda Jordan, Senior Development Adviser (Children and Young People’s programme), National Development Team for Inclusion, Pat Brennan-Barrett, Principal, Northampton College


Tuesday 12 February 2019

Richard Flinton, Chief Executive, North Yorkshire County Council, John Henderson, Chief Executive, Staffordshire County Council, Steve Rumbelow, Chief Executive, Rochdale Borough Council


Councillor Anntoinette Bramble, Chair of Children and Young People’s Board, Local Government Association, Chris Harrison, Director, SEND4Change, Charlotte Ramsden, Chair of the Health, Care and Additional Needs Policy Committee, Association of Directors of Children’s Services, Andrew Reece, British Association of Social Workers representative


Tuesday 5 March 2019

Caroline Dinenage MP, Minister of State for Care, Department of Health and Social Care, Fran Oram, Director for mental health, dementia and disabilities, Department of Health and Social Care, Michelle Morris, Consultant Speech and Language Therapist / Designated Clinical Officer – Salford CCG, Dr Sally Payne, Professional Adviser – Children, Young People and Families, Royal College of Occupational Therapists, Steve Inett, CEO, Healthwatch Kent, Dr Tracey Crockford, Associate Specialist Community Paediatrician, Designated Medical Officer for SEND, West Cheshire, Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent OBE, Head of Maternity Children and Young People–Nursing Directorate, NHS England


Tuesday 19 March 2019

Ben, Eva, Jordan, young people


Simran, Kashifa, young people


Francesca, Ella, young people


Wednesday 24 April 2019

Gill Jones, Deputy Director of Early Education, Ofsted, Jonathan Jones, HMI, Specialist Adviser, SEND, Ofsted, Professor Ursula Gallagher, Deputy Chief Inspector for Primary Medical Services and Integrated Care, CQC, Nigel Thompson, Head of Children’s Health and Justice, CQC


Alison Fiddy, Chief Executive, Ipsea, Imogen Jolley, Head of Public Law, Simpson Millar, Michael King, Local Government and Social Care Ombudsman


Wednesday 8 May 2019

Terry Reynolds, Director for Education and Skills, London Borough of Newham, Stuart Gallimore, Director of Children’s Services, East Sussex County Council


Tuesday 21 May 2019

Nadhim Zahawi MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Children and Families, Rt Hon Nick Gibb MP, Minister of State for School Standards, Dr André Imich, SEN and Disability Professional Adviser, Department for Education


Published: 23 October 2019