A cautious embrace: defending democracy in an age of autocracies Contents

The Foreign Affairs Committee

The Foreign Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated public bodies.

Current membership

Tom Tugendhat MP (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling) (Chair)

Chris Bryant MP (Labour, Rhondda)

Ann Clwyd MP (Labour, Cynon Valley)

Stephen Gethins MP (Scottish National Party, North East Fife)

Conor McGinn MP (Labour, St Helens North)

Ian Murray MP (Labour, Edinburgh South)

Priti Patel MP (Conservative, Witham)

Andrew Rosindell MP (Conservative, Romford)

Mr Bob Seely MP (Conservative, Isle of Wight)

Royston Smith MP (Conservative, Southampton, Itchen)

Catherine West MP (Labour, Hornsey and Wood Green)


The Committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/copyright.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at www.parliament.uk/facom and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Samir Amar Setti (Clerk), Estelle Currie (Media Officer), Clare Genis (Senior Committee Assistant), Ashlee Godwin (Senior Committee Specialist), Ed Hamill (Committee Assistant), Adrian Hitchins (Senior Committee Specialist), James Hockaday (Committee Specialist), James Jennion (Committee Specialist), Emma Makey (Committee Specialist), Chris Shaw (Clerk), Saffron Stewart (Committee Support Apprentice) and Hannah Stone (Committee Specialist).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Foreign Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 7348; the Committee’s email address is fac@parliament.uk.

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsForeign.

Published: 5 November 2019