Health funding in Northern Ireland Contents

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee

The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration, and policy of the Northern Ireland Office (but excluding individual cases and advice given by the Crown Solicitor); and other matters within the responsibilities of the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (but excluding the expenditure, administration and policy of the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions, Northern Ireland and the drafting of legislation by the Office of the Legislative Counsel).

Current membership

Simon Hoare MP (Conservative, North Dorset) (Chair)

Mr Gregory Campbell MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry)

Maria Caulfield MP (Conservative, Lewes)

John Grogan MP (Labour, Keighley)

Mr Stephen Hepburn MP (Independent)

Lady Hermon MP (Independent, North Down)

Kate Hoey MP (Labour, Vauxhall)

Conor McGinn MP (Labour, St Helens North)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Ian Paisley MP (Democratic Unionist Party, North Antrim)

Jim Shannon MP (Democratic Unionist Party, Strangford)

Bob Stewart MP (Conservative, Beckenham)

Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne MP (Conservative, New Forest West)

The following Members are former members of the Committee

Dr Andrew Murrison MP (Conservative, South West Wiltshire)

Mr Robert Goodwill MP (Conservative, Scarborough and Whitby)


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at

The committee is one of the departmental select committees, the powers of which are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No 152. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website at and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

Matthew Congreve (Second Clerk), Zoë Grünewald (Media Officer), John Hitchcock (Senior Committee Assistant), Simon Horswell (Commitee Specialist), George James (Committee Specialist), Margaret McKinnon (Clerk), Sam Nariani (Committee Specialist), Chloe Smith (Apprentice Inquiry Manager) and Kelly Tunnicliffe (Committee Assistant).


All correspondence should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, House of Commons, London SW1A 0AA. The telephone number for general enquiries is 020 7219 2173; the Committee’s email address is

You can follow the Committee on Twitter using @CommonsNIAC

Published: 2 November 2019