Fireworks Contents

Petitions Committee

The Petitions Committee is appointed by the House of Commons to consider e-petitions submitted on and public (paper) petitions presented to the House of Commons.

Current membership

Helen Jones MP (Labour, Warrington North) (Chair)

Martyn Day MP (Scottish National Party, Linlithgow and East Falkirk)

Michelle Donelan MP (Conservative, Chippenham)

Steve Double MP (Conservative, St Austell and Newquay)

Luke Hall MP (Conservative, Thornbury and Yate)

Mike Hill MP (Labour, Hartlepool)

Catherine McKinnell MP (Labour, Newcastle upon Tyne North)

Damien Moore MP (Conservative, Southport)

Paul Scully MP (Conservative, Sutton and Cheam)

Liz Twist MP (Labour, Blaydon)

Daniel Zeichner MP (Labour, Cambridge)


The powers of the Committee are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 145A. These are available on the internet via


Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Lauren Boyer (Second Clerk), James Clarke (Petitions and Engagement Manager), Paul Connolly (Media Officer), Katherine Gammie (Enquiries and Engagement Assistant), Zoe Hays (Senior Committee Assistant), Nicole Le Marie (Media Officer), Shane Pathmanathan (Petitions Moderation Officer), Ben Sneddon (Clerk), and Stephen Wilson (Petitions and Communications Manager).

Engagement Staff

Robert Baldry (Senior Engagement Officer), Shapla Begum (Senior Engagement Officer), Nicholas Carey and Siobhan Conway (Select Committee Engagement Support Officers), Naomi Jurczak (Select Committee Engagement Manager), Tara Jane Kerpens Lee (Senior Engagement Officer).

Published: 5 November 2019