NHS Property Services Contents

The Committee of Public Accounts

The Committee of Public Accounts is appointed by the House of Commons to examine “the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the committee may think fit” (Standing Order No. 148).

Current membership

Meg Hillier MP (Labour (Co-op), Hackney South and Shoreditch) (Chair)

Douglas Chapman MP (Scottish National Party, Dunfermline and West Fife)

Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown MP (Conservative, The Cotswolds)

Chris Evans MP (Labour (Co-op), Islwyn)

Caroline Flint MP (Labour, Don Valley)

Robert Jenrick MP (Conservative, Newark)

Shabana Mahmood MP (Labour, Birmingham, Ladywood)

Nigel Mills MP (Conservative, Amber Valley)

Layla Moran MP (Liberal Democrat, Oxford West and Abingdon)

Stephen Morgan MP (Labour, Portsmouth South)

Anne Marie Morris MP (Conservative, Newton Abbot)

Bridget Phillipson MP (Labour, Houghton and Sunderland South)

Lee Rowley MP (Conservative, North East Derbyshire)

Gareth Snell MP (Labour (Co-op), Stoke-on-Trent Central)

Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP (Conservative, Berwick-upon-Tweed)


Powers of the Committee of Public Accounts are set out in House of Commons Standing Orders, principally in SO No. 148. These are available on the Internet via www.parliament.uk.


© Parliamentary Copyright House of Commons 2019. This publication may be reproduced under the terms of the Open Parliament Licence, which is published at www.parliament.uk/copyright/.

Committee reports are published on the Committee’s website and in print by Order of the House.

Evidence relating to this report is published on the inquiry publications page of the Committee’s website.

Committee staff

The current staff of the Committee are Hajera Begum (Committee Assistant), Ameet Chudasama (Senior Committee Assistant), Richard Cooke (Clerk), Shai Jacobs (Chair Liaison), Stephen Luxford (Media Officer) and Laura-Jane Tiley (Second Clerk).

Published: 5 November 2019